Discover the 25 photographs selected by visitors to the exhibition

During the exhibition « In the Studio » held at le Petit Palais from 05th April 2016 to 17th July 2016, visitors have voted and commented over 100 artist’s workshops photographs from the city of Paris’s collections. Discover now the 25 most selected photographs from those co-curators in the virtual exhibition “In the Studio”.

 

In the celebrities’ privacy
When a photographer enters a studio, it is most of the time on request: a magazine or newspaper asks for the portrait of a prominent artist. Many artists pose, recognizing the importance of these portraits for their promotion and media success. Images more intimate are rare, and this is what makes them so valuable and fascinating.
Unknown artists
The amateur painters know it: an easel in the street is enough to make the onlookers crowd around. It is not because you are not a famous artist that you can’t catch the attention! Closer to us in their very anonymity, those artists whose name escapes us bring art back to what it should always be: a pleasure shared by all.
Stools, ladders and scaffolds
When we see works inside museums, their intensely physical dimension might escape us. Nevertheless, it takes energy to paint and sculpt! Perched on a scaffold or ladder, haunted by the image of stairs leading who knows where, the artist, like a tightrope walker, is always delicately balanced.
Working hands, partner hands
The artists’ hands, like musicians’, have always fascinated photographers. They are the first tool, the link between the creative mind and the work - the thinking and acting organ. We must decode their language and observe their ballet as close as possible to understand the birth of art. The flexing of a wrist or the tension of a finger is already are already the beginning of a signature.
Models
Dummies or beings of flesh and blood, the models are the artist’s silent companions. We often forget their presence in the studio, even if without them – women, most of them – the work wouldn’t exist.
Game of mirrors
Confined to the model role for too long, docile object offered to the artist’s eyes, women have fought for and won their place in the art world. Once became painters, sculptors and photographers, they offer us complex images of themselves, staging the being and its reflection, reality and fantasy.

Découvrez les 25 photographies sélectionnées par les visiteurs de l’exposition

A l’occasion de l’exposition « Dans l’atelier » qui s’est tenue au Petit Palais du 05 avril 2016 au 17 juillet 2016, les visiteurs ont pu consulter en exclusivité 100 clichés d’ateliers d’artistes issues des collections de la Ville de Paris, mais aussi commenter et voter pour leur photographies favorites. Découvrez à présent les 25 œuvres plébiscités par les visiteurs, co-commissaires de l’exposition virtuelle « Dans l’atelier ».

 

Dans l’intimité des stars
Lorsqu’un photographe entre dans un atelier, c’est souvent sur commande : un magazine ou un journal demande le portrait d’un artiste en vue. Conscients de l’importance de ces portraits pour leur promotion et leur succès médiatique, nombreux sont les artistes qui prennent la pose. Les images plus intimes sont plus rares, et c’est ce qui les rend si précieuses et fascinantes.
Illustres anonymes
Les peintres amateurs le savent : il suffit de planter son chevalet dans la rue pour que les badauds se pressent. Ce n’est pas parce qu’on n’est pas un artiste célèbre qu’on n’attire pas les regards ! Plus proches de nous dans leur anonymat même, ces artistes dont le nom nous échappe ramènent l’art à ce qu’il devrait toujours être : un plaisir partagé par tous.
Escabeaux, échelles et échafaudages
Lorsque nous voyons les œuvres dans les musées, leur dimension intensément physique peut nous échapper. Il en faut pourtant de l’énergie pour peindre et sculpter ! Perché sur son échafaudage ou son escabeau, hanté par l’image d’escaliers qui mènent on ne sait où, l’artiste, tel un funambule, est toujours en équilibre instable.
Mains travailleuses, mains complices
Les mains des artistes, tout comme les mains des musiciens, fascinent les photographes. Elles sont l’outil premier, le trait d’union entre l’esprit créateur et l’œuvre – l’organe pensant et agissant. Il faut décoder leur gestuelle et observer leur ballet du plus près possible pour comprendre la naissance de l’art. La flexion d’un poignet ou la tension d’un doigt sont déjà le début d’une signature.
Modèles
Mannequins ou êtres de chair et de sang, les modèles sont les compagnons silencieux de l’artiste. On oublie souvent leur présence dans l’atelier, alors même que sans eux – sans elles, le plus souvent ! – l’œuvre n’existerait pas.
Jeux de miroirs
Trop longtemps cantonnées au rôle de modèle, objet docile offert au regard de l’artiste, les femmes ont conquis de haute lutte leur place dans le monde de l’art. Devenues peintres, sculpteurs et photographes, elles nous offrent d’elles-mêmes des images complexes, qui mettent en scène l’être et son reflet, la réalité et le fantasme.